Monster Curry – set your mouth on fire…

Optimized-mc

This is a level 5 spiciness curry rice.

Looks mild isn’t it? No wonder they said never to judge a book by its cover.

Disclaimer: NEVER, just NEVER, try this if you are just moderately tolerant of chilli. I would consider my chilli-resistance above average – decently high, since I handle these chillies perfectly fine.

Here’s an excerpt from Wikipedia on Bird’s Eye chillies (from my daily diet):

The bird’s eye chili plant is a perennial with small, tapering fruits, often two or three, at a node. The fruits are very pungent.

The bird’s eye chili is small, but is quite hot (piquant). It measures around 100,000–225,000 Scoville units, which is at the lower half of the range for the hotter habanero chili but still many times more spicy than a jalapeño.

Yet, I has having a serious case of runny nose + mouth-on-fire attack while eating this level 5 monster curry.

Let me explain. The first taste of the chilli and curry and you will be like “Oh, that’s mild! I think I can take more than level 7!”

10 minutes into the meal and you wonder why you are putting yourself through such pain. Your mouth will be on fire, and so will your stomach. Yours lips are stinging with hotness and flushing water down your throat just doesn’t seem to work.

Yup. That was me.

When I went back for a second visit, I tried the level 4 spiciness level. This time, it was really acceptable. No doubt it was hot, I did not touch a single sip of water from start till end. And then I wondered why I did not order level 5 instead.

Conclusion: Up for a challenge? I would recommend you getting a bottle of milk before entering the restaurant. Works really well for me when I occasionally get the mouth-on-fire syndrome. Start of with level 3 if you aren’t really sure of what your limits are. Better safe than sorry 😉

Leave a Reply

