Tau Sar Piah 豆沙饼 Hunt

Thanks to my sister’s project on Tau Sar Piah 豆沙饼 (TSP), I went on a hunt for these traditional pastries at various locations (aka Excuse to get away from assignments *cough*).

592 Tau Sar Piah

Got off the bus one stop ahead of the actual one thinking that this was the stall I wanted to visit. Turns out not to be stall I wanted. Nonetheless, trying extra pastries will never kill so I went on in to try a couple of Tau Sar Piahs.

Verdict: Couldn’t make the cut. The crust was too tough and coarse. Though priced much cheaper than the other two stalls later on, I would not return for it again.

Rating: 3/10. Too tough. Too coarse.

20151108_155925

Walked further down (about a bus stop away) and found the stall I wanted.

603 Tau Sar Piah

The stall is much bigger than the first. Again, this one also has a baking area within the stall so you know for sure these goodies have been baked fresh on site. The presentation and store layout here is much better compared to 592 Tau Sar Piah – Brighter and stored in glass display food shelves.

Tried a bunch of pastries here again, because I have too much calories to spare (right.)

Verdict: Much much better than the first. You can feel the distinct layers of the crust, not just one solid and tough top crust. However, my complaint is that on first bite, it still feels a little tough. But once you get past the first, the rest are fine. Crust is fragrant and the fillings are much more generous than the first stall.

Rating: 6/10? Because the filling is pretty decent and there is nothing much to complain about the price. That’s about $0.70-$0.90 for a piece of pastry.

20151108_16085920151108_161129

And because at this stage I had already tried 2 stalls, I figured there would be no harm in hunting for more. So I decided on the last stall at Chinatown Point.

Thye Moh Chan

You know, they always say the quality of the product you receive is proportional to the amount you paid for it? In the case of Tau Sar Piah, I would have to admit this is true.

The store is very modern, despite being an old brand (which had died out for a while I think, before the BreadTalk company bought them and revived the name – Thank heavens). They had arguably the most assortment in flavours and definitely beat the other two hands down in terms of presentation.

Verdict: The Tau Sar Piah that made me fall in love with Tau Sar Piah. The flaky crust that was solid enough to not disintegrate in my hands but easy to bite. Fillings were generous and the taste was wonderful. In case you are wondering, I tried the cranberry TSP and mixed nuts TSP. Both were awesome.

Rating: 8/10. Love the TSP here, even though its a little pricier than the other 2. Costs about $1.70 per piece. I assure you, its worth the eat.

IMG_20151107_11223220151108_201444

Till I go on another food hunt… 😉

Leave a Reply

