Food Hunt: Old Airport Road Food Centre (Part 2)

Last weekend, I made a trip down to Old Airport Road again, in search of more good food. My trips there are seldom disappointing, and this trip was arguably not too bad.

First the bad, then the good.

Hokkien Mee

Ok, so this Hokkien Prawn Mee was kind of disappointing, taking into account the waiting time and price.

hokkien-mee
Yi Hokkien Mee

While the noodles were reasonably fragrant, they were way too overcooked. The result was a plate of pretty gooey Hokkien Mee (noodles were sticky and limp). I would have liked it way better if the noodles were less-overcooked and had a better consistency. At $4 a plate, the amount of prawns and sotong (squid) in this Hokkien Mee was marginally disappointing. Should the overall taste be better, I probably would not have minded that.
Homemade chilli is actually their “selling point” but I found it just really meh. It was a tad too sour (probably vinegar) and not as spicy as they claim. Or maybe I just have good chilli tolerance.

Note that there are 2 stalls of similar name – don’t get tricked! This stall is on the left of the other, which also has a visible queue. Haven’t tried the other one, so no comments yet!

Now, for the good food…

Tau Pok

This stall’s taupok has always been one of my favourite and the waiting time is just… sad. On that saturday, I had to wait a whole 20 minutes before I could get my precious plate of Tau Pok. No worries though, it is totally worth the wait 😉

 

taupok
Tau Pok and You Tiao ($4)

 

Everything is freshly prepared, which explains the marginally crazy waiting time. Both taupok and youtiao were super crispy and hot. The taupok is stuffed with cucumbers and lettuce, and the best thing you can do with this is to dunk them in the sauce provided. Same goes for the youtiao. Let them soak up the goodness of the sauce (eating with the sauce doesn’t dry out with mouth as fast) haha. Best part of the youtiao is that it’s not insanely oily like some of the others you find in markets!

taupok2

Definitely one of my must-eats at Old Airport Road. 

Kah Ping Ri Ye Xiang
Address: #01-87, 51 Old Airport Rd, 390051

Fruit Juice

Heh, I really love this fruit juice stall (ever since I chanced upon this stall and my itchy mouth acted up). Just FYI, I’m the kind of person who seldom buy drinks when I dine out. So… you can call this one of my exceptions.

 

juice-1

So far, I have tried their Strawberry Milkshake ($2.50) and Apple Pineapple ($2.50). Both are great and I might explore more their Milkshakes the next time! juice-2

Just Juice It
Address: #01-82, 51 Old Airport Rd, 390051

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

That’s all for now~ 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Laura Wong says:

    Thanks for the heads up on OAR’s fruit juice! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks for reading! ^^

      Like

  2. Street Food says:

    I’m still learning from you, while I’m making my way to the top as well. I absolutely love reading everything that is posted on your website.Keep the information coming. I liked it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

